Top 10 2017 Retellings I'm Excited For!

Today is the next instalment of the series of 2017 books I'm looking forward to and/or have pre-ordered. You can see the schedule of what you can expect below! I hope you guys learn about some great 2017 releases with these posts. If you want to see all the books I have shelved as 2017 Release, you can check out my Goodreads Shelf!

Overall (October 13) | Contemporary (Last Week) | Retellings (This Week) | Fantasy (Next Week) | Science Fiction (November 10) | Historical Fiction (November 17) | Adult Fantasy (November 24) | Adult Science Fiction (December 1)

Seeking Mansfield

Author: Kate Watson
Series: N/A
Publisher: Jolly Fish Press
Publication Date: 2017
What Does It Retell?  Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

Sixteen year-old Finley Price has perfected two things: how to direct a world-class production, and how to fly way, way under the radar. The only person who ever seems to notice Finley is her best friend and godparents' son, Oliver Bertram. If she could just take Oliver's constant encouragement to heart, she'd finally chase her dream of joining the prestigious Mansfield Theater.

When teen movie stars Emma and Harlan Crawford move across the street from the Bertram's, they immediately set their sights on Oliver and his vapid sister, Juliette, shaking up Finley and Oliver's stable friendship. As Emma and Oliver grow closer, Harlan finds his attention shifting from Juliette to the quiet, enigmatic, and thoroughly unimpressed Finley. Out of boredom, Harlan decides to make her fall in love with him. Problem is, the harder he seeks to win her, the harder he falls for her. 

But Finley doesn't want to be won, and she doesn't want to see Oliver with anyone else. To claim Oliver's heart—and keep her own—she'll have to find the courage to do what she fears most: step into the spotlight. 

SEEKING MANSFIELD is a charming YA contemporary reimagining of Jane Austen’s classic Mansfield Park, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell.

Why I'm Excited For It

I love Jane Austen retellings so I am very ready for this one to be released. I think it will be a great story and I am excited to see what Kate Watson brings to the original text and how she updates it to be new. I’m thinking Dani and I might review this one together on BAMF because we both live for Jane Austen.

The Duke of Bannerman Prep

Author: Katie Nelson
Series: N/A
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Publication Date: May 2, 2017
What Does It Retell? The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Words are weapons. Facts can be manipulated. And nothing is absolute—especially right and wrong.

Tanner McKay is at Bannerman Prep for only one reason: the elite school recruited him after he brought his public school’s debate team to victory last year. Bannerman wants a championship win. Debate is Tanner’s life—his ticket out of his poor-as-dirt life and family drama, straight to a scholarship to Stanford and the start of a new, better future.

But when he's paired with the Duke, his plans for an easy ride seem as if they’ve hit the rails. The Duke is the quintessential playboy, beloved by everyone for his laissez-faire attitude, crazy parties, and seemingly effortless favors.

And a total no-show when it comes to putting in the work to win.

But as Tanner gets sucked into the Duke’s flashy world, the thrill of the high life and the adrenaline of existing on the edge becomes addictive. A small favor here and there seems like nothing in exchange for getting everything he ever dreamed of.

But the Duke’s castle is built on shady, shaky secrets, and the walls are about to topple down.

A contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, Katie Nelson’s taut debut is perfect for fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska, Kate Brian’s Private series, and anyone who’s encountered the cut-throat world of competitive high school.

Why I'm Excited For It

I don’t think y’all understand how excited I am for this one. F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of my all-time favourite authors and holy crap I am so excited for this. Not only is THE GREAT GATSBY a wonderful novel, I am so hyped to see how it will be updated to fit into modern times. This is my MOST anticipated release of 2017 and I cannot wait for it to be released because I already have it pre-ordered so I can read it right away!

Sea Witch

Author: Sarah Henning
Series: N/A
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: 2017
What Does It Retell? The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen

Pitched as the never-before-told origin story of the sea witch from Hans Christian Andersen's "The Little Mermaid" told in the vein of Wicked – from the villainess's point of view.

Why I'm Excited For It

This is told from the villain’s point of view, which means that we get to see Ursula’s perspective on all things in this book. I am so excited for that because I feel like too often we see the hero or get a hero’s perspective but I love a good anti-hero. I have high hopes for this one.


#Review: A MADNESS SO DISCREET by Mindy McGinnis


Author: Mindy McGinnis
Source: Borrowed from Sarah
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: October 6, 2015
Rating: 3/5 stars

Grace Mae knows madness.

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil—and the madness that exists in all of us.

Trigger warning for this one! It has rape and suicide in it so please be cautious when reading my little chickadees.

This one was really slow to start and even though I did enjoy it, I thought that it was kinda meh at the same time. I think it is dark and intriguing, which is always a good sign, but I thought the story took way too long to get interesting. I was a huge fan of a piece of the ending but I'm also like ehhh about whether or not you should read it.


ARC #Review: THE RAINS by Gregg Hurwitz


Author: Gregg Hurwitz
Series: N/A

Source: ARC
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: October 18, 2016
Rating: 2/5 stars

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek’s Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding. Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen—and Patrick’s birthday is only a few weeks away. 

Determined to save Patrick’s life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites—and what they find is horrifying.

Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity’s only hope for salvation.
Disclaimer: I traded for an ARC of this with Adyranna!

Wow. This didn't take me long and while I don't quite want my "precious reading time back" but it's feeling a bit like I want my precious reading time back. I only get so much time to read a week and I read this one today (well yesterday now) because I was like "this is a week overdue and I SHOULD LIKE IT so I will read it" but then I read it and blah. I don't have anything to say other than it was just blah. 


#Review: CHANGE PLACES WITH ME by Lois Metzger


Author: Lois Metzger
Source: Purchased at Chapters
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: June 14, 2016
Rating: 1.5/5 stars

Rose has changed. She still lives in the same neighborhood and goes to the same high school with the same group of kids, but when she woke up today, something was a little different. Her clothes and hair don’t suit her anymore. The dogs who live upstairs are no longer a terror. She wants to throw a party—this from a girl who hardly ever spoke to her classmates before. There’s no more sadness in her life; she’s bursting with happiness.

But something still feels wrong to Rose. Because until very recently, she was an entirely different person—a person who’s still there inside her, just beneath the thinnest layer of skin.

I was really excited to read this one. I pre-ordered it then waited and waited so that I could read it as soon as I got it, but I was really let down. The premise sounds SO intriguing and as if there is a bit of a mystery to it + speculative fiction is literally my jam. But I am SO disappointed with this one and I think the main issue I have with it is that it was too short to do everything it wanted to do. This wanted to look at if it is your memories or your outlook that affects your personality, but it totally fell short and flat on that.